St John Ambulance presented Services to Football Award

Sue collecting the award

St John Ambulance was awarded the Services to Football Award, sponsored by npower, at this year’s League Managers Association 20th Annual Awards Dinner hosted at the historic Old Billingsgate, London on 14 May.

CEO Sue Killen attended the awards ceremony, which was hosted by Ed Chamberlain from Sky Sports News.

Commitment to first aid provision honoured

LMA Chairman, Howard Wilkinson, introduced SJA on the night and explained to the 800-strong audience why the award was being presented.

‘St John Ambulance has a long history with football. The charity’s volunteers first provided first aid support during an 1895 Northampton Town league match and have been an integral part of the game ever since,’ he said. ‘They are professionally trained and equipped, keeping fans safe and, when needed, they use their first aid skills to be the difference between life and death. As Fabrice Muamba’s story shows, prompt first aid, alongside excellent after care, saves lives. They’ve also run campaigns, more recently with Arsenal’s Jack Wilshere, to encourage fans to learn this vital skill.

‘Countless people are indebted to them and on their behalf we’d like to present St John Ambulance with the Services to Football Award.’

Sue Killen, CEO of St John Ambulance, said: ‘We’re absolutely delighted to be recognised for services to football and to follow such luminaries as Sir Jimmy Hill. Our volunteers are ready to be the difference between life and death at matches up and down the country every day but beyond the turnstiles people often don't get first aid when they need it. We hope this award, recognising the importance of first aid, encourages more people to learn the skills they may one day use to save a life.’

Award recipients

Other winners on the night included Newcastle United’s Alan Pardew who was honoured with the prestigious LMA Manager of the Year Award. The award, sponsored by Barclays, is voted by LMA members, including all the managers from the top four professional leagues in English football.

The full list of awards presented by new England manager and LMA President as well as the 2010 LMA Manager of the Year, Roy Hodgson, LMA Chairman, Howard Wilkinson, and The FA's Head of Elite Development, Gareth Southgate are as follows:

  • Barclays Premier League Manager of the Year – Alan Pardew, Newcastle United
  • Barclays Community Sports Award – Ros Cramp
  • Npower Football League 2 Manager of the Year – Paolo Di Canio, Swindon Town
  • Npower Football League 1 Manager of the Year – Chris Powell, Charlton Athletic
  • Npower Football League Championship Manager of the Year – Brian McDermott, Reading
  • Budweiser FA Cup Manager of the Year – Roberto Di Matteo, Chelsea
  • LMA Special Merit Award sponsored by npower – Lee Clark, Huddersfield Town
  • LMA Service to Football Award sponsored by npower – St John Ambulance
  • LMA Manager of the Year sponsored by Barclays – Alan Pardew, Newcastle United.